Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
5000 Discussions

VTune Amplifier XE self validation script on Linux

Dmitry_P_Intel1
Employee

Hello All,

Time to time we have the following questions from VTune Amplifier Linux customers:

-I don’t have administrator privileges and cannot install VTune Amplifier driver, what limitations might I have with the product without the driver installation?

-I installed the driver but VTune still reports some errors before HW-based collections.

-I’m a system administrator and I'm deploying VTune Amplifier on a cluster or corporative environment, how to check that VTune works OK?

In VTune Amplifier 2018 Gold release we added <VTune_install_dir>/bin64/amplxe-self-checker.sh script that will help to answer such questions.

The self-checker script will run multiple representative analysis types (both software sampling and HW-event based) on a small benchmark application with reliable hotspots and show diagnostics of the runs for collection, finalization and reporting phases for each analysis type. It will also allow to diagnose situations when VTune Amplifier driver is loaded with wrong permissions or an old driver is present indicating that it could be forgotten to be updated.

If Self-checker script found issues that you cannot interpret and address yourself – the log file that Self-checker script emits can be provided to support team and will help developers to get more details what went wrong on the machine.

Also the script will return 0 if all collections passed and non-zero value if a blocked error for any collection type is observed so the check can be scripted.

Let me attach the script output that I had on my 2 socket Broadwell machine with Ubuntu 16.04:

Intel(R) VTune(TM) Amplifier Self Check Utility
Copyright (C) 2009-2017 Intel Corporation. All rights reserved.
Build Number: 525261

Instrumentation based analysis check