Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

Article/Paper/Documentation about Inspector/Static Secutiry Analysis tool

Simone_A_
Beginner
Hi, I am new in using Intel Inspector XE for dynamic analysis and the Intel compiler in static analysis mode (formerly SSA I guess). I would like to understand how they work, so I was wondering if there is some documentation, paper publication or everything that explain the techniques used by these tools to perform their analysis. Thanks. Best Regards, Simone
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee

First at all, you have to use trial/commercial license of Intel Parallel Studio product. The reason is that Static Security Analysis feature will use Intel C++ compiler & Intel Inspector XE.

1. When you try to build your source by using compiler, to generate SSA result - please refer this article

2. When you try to display error report by using inspector - please refer this article. You also can find more from Inspector XE's help, for example - searching words "static analysis workflow"

0 Kudos
Simone_A_
Beginner
Hi, yes I am using the commercial license of Intel Parallel Studio product. I got your articles they were really useful. But I still have some doubt. For example, what is the level of support of OpenMP within Inspector? Does it make a binary instrumentation of the code or it does an instrumentation at source code level? What if I compile the OpenMP program with a compiler different from Intel Compiler? Is Inspector able to analyze it? Thanks. Best Regards, Simone Atzeni
0 Kudos
Peter_W_Intel
Employee

> what is the level of support of OpenMP within Inspector? Does it make a binary instrumentation of the code or it does an instrumentation at source code level?

Source code level, it should be.

>What if I compile the OpenMP program with a compiler different from Intel Compiler? Is Inspector able to analyze it?