Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

Compared to AQtime

zoharl3
Beginner

Hi,

I'm new to VTune, and I usually use AQTime. I'm trying to understand vtune paradigm, and I'm missing a few pieces. In aqtime when I'm looking for hotspots I have a list of user functions which can be sorted by time with children. I can easily find the function with takes most of the time, and then inside it I can see how much each line takes in percent (with children).

VTune on the other hand recommends that I'll look for subs that by themselves take a lot of time (without children). And then inside the function it look in all the file for lines that take a lot of time. So we moved from a function to the whole file, and the lines pointed by vtune don't take into account the children. Thus the hotspots pointed by vtune are virtually useless. I can't see how to find this way the hotspot that actually took time by using a child. Seeing the child by itself is also meaningless.
If I would like to see time with children I could use the tree view, and from the first external function go down, more, and more, and more.... until I might find something useful, if there won't be a fork or something.
Also it's really inconvenient to compare lines by the actual time. I much prefer in percent of the function and have it for *any* line.

What am I missing, how do you do it?
0 Kudos
5 Replies
David_A_Intel1
Employee
Find the function that takes the most time in the Bottom Up view, select it, then switch to the Top-Down view to see that function and all it's children. Right click on the bar to change to "Percent".
0 Kudos
zoharl3
Beginner

Okay, percent checked, but it's cosmetics. Still the bottom-top gives me irrelavant functions, and when I click the first one, vtune gives me 3 useless hotspots in all the function's file, which doesn't even include the file. I need: