Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4992 Discussions

Locks and Waits analysis seems to loose data

wfmitchell
Beginner
I'm new to VTune Amplifier XE 2011. I attempted to do a Locks and Waits analysis on my Fortran OpenMP code and find that the worker threads seem to be missing a lot of events, as in this screenshot.

The OpenMP parallel sections are indicated by the blue arrows in the master thread. The other threads should have all the same parallel sections, but as can be seen, each one quits showing them at some point with the rest of the time being reported as waiting for the barrier at it's last blue arrow. The same is true if I do a Concurrency analysis, but if I do a Hotspots analysis it shows all of the OpenMP parallel sections correctly in all threads. Does anyone have any idea what is going on here?

Intel VTune Amplifier XE 2011.4 build 176374
no kernel driver, installed as non-root
ifort 11.1 20100806
Linux CentOS 5.5 kernel 2.6.18-238.19.1.el5
Dell Precision M4500 with quad core Core i7 and hyperthreading (8 virtual cores)
OMP_NUM_THREADS 4
0 Kudos
15 Replies
wfmitchell
Beginner
OK, can someone tell me how to insert a jpeg image? The "insert/edit image" button in this text composer didn't work.

Thanks,
wfmitchell
0 Kudos
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
After you uploaded jpeg file, please insert it into the text.

Also you can use "Add Files" to add jpeg file as attachment.

It's better that you can provide test code, so other can reproduce this problem and investigate why.

Thanks, Peter
0 Kudos
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
Here I have an example program (compute primes in OMP parallel...). See attached files (built with ifort 12.0 and use VTune Amplifier XE Update 4)

[root@NHM02 peter]# source /opt/intel/compilerpro-12.0.0.048/bin/compilervars.sh intel64

[root@NHM02 peter]# ifort -g -openmp -openmp-report -fpp openmp_sample.f90 -o openmp_sample.ifort