Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4995 Discussions

PTU crash during hotspot analysis, was "Hotspot analysis really slowing down system in PTU"

dave_matsumoto
Beginner
I'm switching between PTU and VTune right now, and currently have a hotspot analysis running. PTU is barely using any CPU, and about 250MB of RAM, but it is slowing my computer down to a crawl. The only things I have checked in the Profile properties are:

- Enable Hotspot Analysis
- Event-based sampling (CPU_CLK_UNHALTED.CORE and INST_RETIRED.ANY)
- Enable statistical callgraph
- Enable loop analysis

Currently, it finished the trace file conversion and is now stuck "Resolving symbols". Since I am totally new to performance analysis, can anyone tell me if there is a good starting point for finding hotspots in my application? I might need to try again and uncheck the callgraph and/or loop analysis, but I thought that would be useful information to look at... especially the callgraph. I'm not sure how to figure out if it's taking a long time because PTU took a dump (since it's not very active in Task Manager), or if I just need to let it run overnight or something.

EDIT (08/23/2008) -- I let the system crank on the analysis for about 36 hours or so, and PTU just crashed. It finally got past the "resolving symbols" part, and "crashed" on analysing loops. The interesting part is that PTU still seems to be running.

The "crash" manifested itself in the appearance of the JIT debugger window, which is just the post-mortem debug behavior. I selected "yes" to see if it would show me anything, or at least hoped to be able to save the crash dump information. Unfortunately, it wasn't possible to save it. When I closed the debugger, PTU continued on because now it's on the "collapsing the tree" step. I take it the loop analysis portion is in a DLL and that module crashed without bringing down Eclipse.