Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4975 Discussions

Ratio Limits for the Intel Core 2 and Intel Core i7

jjoker2k
Beginner
Hello,

I'm studying performance event ratios of various programs on Intel Core 2 and Intel Core i7 computers using VTune. I was wondering why, in the help pages of VTune (under VTune Performance Analyzer Reference -> Processor Events and Advice), there are good and bad limits of ratios concerning only Intel Core and NOT Intel Core 2 nor Intel Core i7. Here's an example for Intel Core:

DTLB Miss Rate

DTLB misses / Instructions Retired

High value for this ratio indicates that the data your code accesses, spreads over many pages within a short time. TLB misses may yield L2 misses. Overall penalty is incurred over the original load or store operation.

Limits: good < 0.02, bad > 0.05

And here's an example for Intel Core 2:

DTLB Miss Rate due to Stores

Equation: DTLB_MISSES.MISS_ST / INST_RETIRED.ANY

Category: L1 Data Cache and DTLB Ratios; Address Translation Ratios; Ratios for Tuning Assistant Advice;

Definition: A high value for this ratio indicates that the code accesses too many data pages within a short time, and causes many Data TLB misses due to store operations. These misses can impact performance if they do not occur in parallel to other instructions. In addition, if there are many stores in a row, some of them missing the DTLB, it may cause stalls due to full store buffer.

Do you know if there is a place where I can find more information about the limits of these ratios on Intel Core 2 and Intel Core i7? I have already searched inside the Intel manuals (Intel 64 and IA-32 volume 1,2,3 and the optimization manual) with no luck. Plus, quoting what I pasted above, what does "A high value for this ratio..." mean? What is the reference value above which another value must be considered a "high value"?

Thank you very much in advance for your kind help,

Daniele
0 Kudos