Developing Games on Intel Graphics
If you are gaming on graphics integrated in your Intel Processor, this is the place for you! Find answers to your questions or post your issues with PC games
486 Discussions

Suspected driver bug in D3D12 drivers for Intel(R) HD Graphics 630 leads to DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

BenjiSmith
Beginner

Hello, I am a game developer writing to report a potential bug that I found in the D3D12 graphics drivers for my Intel integrated GPU. I found that sometimes, deleting a D3D12 resource after the command lists that referenced it had finished would cause problems in later command list submissions.

I sometimes see it manifest itself as an allocation error, which Visual Studio can catch. However most often I see it as a DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG error, which will then lead to device removal. Querying DRED after the device removal, it does appear to be a GPU VA page fault, with the virtual address matching the deleted resource. However, this shouldn't be an issue because the resource is only used on frame 0, and only deleted after frame 0 has finished all operations.

I have created a test app that I believe is a minimal repro for the issue. I can attach crash dumps, but given that this ends in a device removal I don't know how helpful they'd be.

The source code for the test app is attached, and can be found here: https://gist.github.com/Benjins/3c266cc2275aab5d063f67b2f4942f5f

The timeline of events for the repro as I understand it:
- Create resources for frame 0
- Draw frame 0
- Wait on the CPU for the GPU to finish frame 0, so that no outstanding command lists refer to the resources created
- Begin creating resources for frame 1
- Delete one of the resources created for frame 0 (all other resources will leak since we don't care about them)
- Draw frame 1
- Wait on the CPU for the GPU to finish frame 1
- Begin creating resources for frame 2
- Observe crash