Embedded Intel® Core™ Processors
Communicate Intel® Core™ Hardware, Software, Firmware, Graphics Concerns

WG82574IT in failure

BMatt4
Novice

This is my first time to the community so hello everybody.

We are using two ethernet controllers WG82574IT in a motherboard for some specific projects. The board are in the field and we have some failure feedback on these components.

The controller in failure doesn't respond on the PCIe but generates clock and data signals on the EEPROM side, so it is not completely dead.

By investigating, we have found that the ethernet transfomer has bad solders on both side (cable side and controller side).

Is it possible that this solder issue damaged the PCIe part of the controller by creating spikes or other phenomena?

Thanks

Best Regards

Matthieu

0 Kudos
1 Solution
BMatt4
Novice

Hi All,

We have progressed in the search of the root cause of our issue. It seems not related to the resistor itself nor the ethernet controller. Our issue is related with corrosion inside the resistor.

So, thanks at all for your help and support.

Regards

Matthieu

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
18 Replies
Gabriel_T_Intel
Employee

Hello Baquematthieu.

Welcome to the Embedded Community, we are very glad to have you as a new member.

We are going to review your case and will get back to you very soon.

Best Regards

Gabriel Thomas.

0 Kudos
Adolfo_S_Intel

Hello baquematthieu

Are the Ethernet controllers part of retail cards or are they soldered in the motherboard?

The motherboard was manufactured by your company or was purchased from a third party vendor?

The PCIe was working before, or has it always been malfunctioning?

Have you determined if there are short circuits, or continuity problems in the PCI lines?

Best Regards

Adolfo S.

0 Kudos
Natalie_Z_Intel
Employee

Hello, Matthieu! So glad that you found the Embedded Community. Would love to know how you found us. Please know that we will do our best to assist you!