Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4866 Discussions

Give me a Plan for my project!

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all 

I'm a master student 

I want to buy one FPGA Board+ADA card from Terasic 

I'm gonna generate a signal by DDS on the FPGA side and then Sample two signals. only one second sampling needs to 2x65Mx2Byte RAM space. 

then I need to some process on the sampled data such as Sliding FFT or Wavelet. 

then I need to transfer the Sampled data and the Results to my laptop over USB or Ethernet. 

i don't want to use linux at all. 

all of my time is only 7 month. 

what should I do? 

which one is better and easier to control the RAM and USB or Ethernet? Nios or SOC? if there are any IP cores to control them, How much price is it usually? I couldn't find any price list on the Altera webpage! don't forget I'm a student not a billionaire!  

"Cyclone V Starter board" is suitable for me? or "DE-1 SOC"? 

I'm newbie to FPGA please help me in details bcoz I can not understand very professional discussions. 

Regards
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The DE-1 SOC has an ARM processor. You will have to learn the interface from the ARM->FPGA. 

I am using the DE2-115. Feedback from my labmate (I am also an MS student) and his professor is that the DE-1 SOC is more challenging, since the ARM interface is a little more complicated than the Nios II direct interface. The Nios II and general IP cores are free to use. 

For that much RAM, you will need to use off-chip memory. There are separate tutorials at Altera University for SD-RAM. Be sure to adjust your (*.sdc) file to adjust for skew. If you are building a custom module, you will need to ensure your timing constraints in the Synopsis Design Contraint (.sdc) file with TimeQuest Analyze to ensure your logic paths meet timing requirements.  

Some helpful tutorials: