Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4811 Discussions

How to make X710-da2 work with Ubuntu 14.04LTS?

MUgol
Beginner

Hello,

Could anyone help me to establish link either between two ports of an X710-da2 adapter, two Intel X710-da adapters or between an X710-da2 and an X4012 Dell switch?

I am new to 10G ethernet, but I think I already tried everything I could. Here are the steps I performed:

1. Plug two X710-da2 adapters into two Supermicro 2028 systems (DP Xeon E5 v3).

2. Connect the X4012 switch to WAN with 1Gbit RJ45 SFP module

3. Plug DEM-CB300S D-link twinax cables (SFF-8431 compatible) into both switch and X710-da2 adapters (1 cable per NIC)

4. Power on the servers, make sure eth4/eth5 (corresponding to X710 NIC) are up, and observe no link, no led light.

5. Connect the secondary ports of NICs with another dlink twinax cable, setup 192.168.0.{1,2}/24 ipv4 addresses and observe no link as well.

6. Download the latest i40e v1.5.16 driver from official website, install it with "make install", load with rmmod/modprobe and observe no positive changes.

7. Try to enable auto-negotiation with ethtool v3.13 (# ethtool -s eth4 autoneg on) and see no change in ethtool eth4 output (auto-negotiation remains disabled)

8. Try updating nvm with the latest NVMUpdatePackage.zip v5.04 and see "update not available" message for my device 8086-1572, despite ethtool -i showing FW v.4.53

9. Assemble another machine based on Asus z10pa-u8/10g-2s (2x onboard SFP+) without an HDD/SSD and see the link LEDs light up as expected when connecting the machine to Dell X4012 with a DEM-CB300S D-link twinax cable.

Why cannot I see the Intel NIC LEDs light up in any circumstances? Do the NICs need any special motherboard UEFI configuration?

I am running 3.16.0-30-lowlatency kernel on the first Ubuntu Studio 14.04 machine and

3.19.0-43-generic kernel on the second Ubuntu Desktop 14.04 machine.