Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4811 Discussions

I unable to transmit on the global IPv4 broadcast address (255.255.255.255) on my Intel i219-v ethernet controller

cjorgens79
Beginner

I have an Intel i219-v ethernet controller which wont transmit UDP packets to any devices (using 255.255.255.255). If i use a subnet broadcast, ie 192.168.100.255 it works fine, but 255.255.255.255 does not work. The adapter can receive packets from other devices sending to that address (both wired and wireless), but when i try to send out to the other devices from this device is does not work. I do not have any 3rd party firewall's, only windows firewall. Turning it off makes no difference. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the network device driver.

I am an experienced software developer who is very familiar with network programming (sockets). The reason this has come up is that the racing simulator games Project CARS and Project CARS 2 both send their in game telemetry to devices on the network using a broadcast IP of 255.255.255.255 for UDP port 5606. As a developer of companion apps for sim racing, it makes my job rather difficult if I cannot receive the game's telemetry on other devices on my network. The only way around it i have found is to record it on localhost and then retransmit it using a direct ip of a mobile device or using the subnet broadcast address. I would very much like to resolve this problem once and for all.

The network device driver settings are all set to the defaults. My local IP is 192.168.100.42, subnet is 255.255.255.0, gateway is my router 192.168.100.1

Any help or suggestions of things i could try would be much appreciated.

0 Kudos
44 Replies
Caguicla_Intel

Hello cjorgens79,

Thank you for posting in Intel Ethernet Communities.