Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4865 Discussions

I219-LM packet drop when fragmented

shlagevuk
Beginner

Hi,

I have some problem with using  integrated LAN controler I219-LM (rev 20). As the title said there is a lot of dropped packet when fragmenting  is used.

I'm not an expert in diagnostic with network so if you have tools to use or command to run to narrow down the problem, I can do.

Some information about the system, problem is replicated on two identical laptop:

Dell latitude 5420

Ubuntu 20.04

Bios updated to the latest from Dell (v1.6)

Latest stable e1000e driver from Intel (3.8.7)

kernel 5.8.0-53

Problem was identified when using the laptop, everything using network is slow with a lot of renegociation with ipsec tunnel for example.
When digging, we've seen that simple ping work without drop, but as soon as the ping packet need to be fragmented, there is up to 80% of packet dropped.

ping x.x.x.x -> ok
ping x.x.x.x -s 3000 -> lot of dropped packet

When checking what is happening on the remote computer all packet are received and send back, but lot of fragmented packet seem to be dropped when comming back at LAN adapter.

There is no problem using another LAN adapter (using the one from a usb-c dock station).

Thanks

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Mike_Intel

Hello shlagevuk,

How are you today? I am just sending another follow up and hoping that you are now talking with Dell for further assistance. 

Since we have not heard back from you, I need to close this inquiry. 

If you need further assistance, please post a new question. 

Thank you.

Best regards,

Michael L.

Intel® Customer Support Technician

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Mike_Intel

Hello shlagevuk,

Thank you for posting in Intel Ethernet Communities. 

For us to further check and investigate the issue, please provide the following details.

1. Are you using an onboard I219-LM?

2. Is it working fine before?