Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4810 Discussions

Intel i225-V not raising the physical link over GigabitEthernet

mngxx
Beginner

Hello,

I just built a new system using an AMD B550 motherboard (Asus ROG Strix B550-i) which uses an Intel i225-V Ethernet adapter. I was very disappointed to see that the network card has such critical issues that it can't raise the physical link over Gigabit Ethernet.

Before we lose time with basic questions - as I'm a network engineer:

• I've tried both the driver from my mb's vendor website and the latest Intel driver
  • I'm using a Cisco Catalyst switch on the other end, which I can manually configure and use to test scenarios; from my tests, the link is not going up over gigabit ethernet in any case - Auto-negotiation enabled/disabled on both ends etc. The only way the physical link goes UP is when I manually set the interface on the Cisco switch to speed 100.
  • I've tried the same switchport and RJ45 cable with another host using a Realtek NIC - no issues there, link went UP on 1000Mbps
  • I've connected the Intel NIC to another device and set both ends to auto-negotiate, the link comes up only on FastEthernet

I can't tell you how disappointing it is to use FastEthernet in 2020, Intel....

0 Kudos
22 Replies
Caguicla_Intel

Hello mngxx,

Thank you for posting in Intel Ethernet Communities. 

We apologize for the inconvenience that this might have caused on your end.

For us to check on your request, kindly provide the following information.

1.) Please share the exact model of your Cisco Catalyst switch.

2.) What is the current Firmware version of your Intel® Ethernet Controller I225-V?

3.) Kindly provide Intel® System Support Utility log from your system. Refer to the link below on how to extract the logs.

Help Guide for the Intel® System Support Utility

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000008563/software/software-applications.html