Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4865 Discussions

Need to increase the disk space

RImpe
Beginner

Newbie here working on a Intel Modular Server, Model MFSYS25V2, whatever help I can get would be greatly appreciated and if I need to post in a

different community please let me know. Thanks.

I have a couple of questions, please bear with me.

1 ----- When Looking at the front chassis (web browser or physical unit)

We have 8 hard drives on the left side of the unit (one extra for hot swap and another one I am assuming it is an unformatted spare, in the Modular Server Control it says "Predictive Failure (PFA). All HD's are 278GB

We have 2 server units in the middle of the of Model MFSYS25V2 as a Raid 5

SRVBT1 and SRVBT2 both are: 4.00 GB Raid 5, one says Server 1 Drive 0 the other says Server 2 Drive 0

Then there are 2 LUN's they both say: 700.GB Raid 5, Assigned to….. (Not sure to what)

I am not understanding how SRVBT1, SRVBT2, LUN1, LUN2 and the 8 hard drive interact.

If someone could please give me a layman's explanation, I would greatly appreciate it!

I guess I should explain how we are using the MFSYS25V2

We have 6 - Window 2003 Servers and one Windows XP installed using VMWARE VSphere (Newbie to this as well).

What we have for servers ---- 2 DC's, 1 each of FS, Backup, data and app.

2 ----- A consulting company installed MFSYS25V2 a couple of years ago way before my time, the data server has 6 virtual drives ranging in different disk sizes. I need to increase one of the virtual drive space if possible. Right now it has 60 GB and we need to increase it to at least 120 GB (60 GB more). Can I take the HD that says PFA (see above), format it, add it to the" storage pool" and possibly increase the virtual drive that needs to be increased by 60GB and leave the rest unallocated??????

If not, can you suggest what I can do? I know that I cannot go out and buy all new