Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4810 Discussions

Problem with Flow Director filter and statistic registers

JNils4
Beginner

Hi!

I'm a student at Umeå University and I am currently using an Intel® 82599EB 10 Gigabit Ethernet Controller to send and receive network packets. I'm using the Flow Director filter to direct the packets into different rx queues, and I want to use the queue statistic registers (QPRC and QPRDC) to count the number of received packets at each queue.

However, the numbers are not correct! The GPRC register gives one number for the total amount of received packets (which is correct, it's the same as the amount of sent packets), while summing the queue statistics gives another number, lower than the GPRC. Shouldn't these be the same? It works at low speeds, <5 Gbit/s, but not for speeds higher than that. All packets should be matching the filters. Where/why are packets lost after being received and counted at the GPRC register, but before being placed in a queue and counted at the queue statistics?

Any other suggestions for ways to count packets divided into different groups/queues are also very appreciated if the solution with the Flow Director filter and queue statistics is not working!

Thanks!

Johan Nilsson

0 Kudos
9 Replies
idata
Employee

Hi Johan,

Thank you for contacting Intel.

In order to further investigate your concerns, we would like to request for additional details:

1. Network Adapter Model:

2. Operating System:

3. Where you see the wrong counts.

We look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,

Sandy
0 Kudos
JNils4
Beginner

Thanks for the fast reply!

Some additional info:

1. I think it is an "Intel Corporation 82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection". (Not 82599EB as I wrote in my first post)

2. I'm using Ubuntu 14.4.