Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies

VLAN Support

DPott7
Beginner

​Hi Intel,

Genuine question about future support for VLAN configurations. I work in IT and have 1 particular, rather old project that I inherited that is extremely dependant on VLAN configuration in order to separate it from the main network within the company.

This same configuration is used throughout 3 other sites across the world to which I of course don't have manual access to.

Now i'm more inclined to blame Microsoft more than Intel, as this only happens when Microsoft pushes an update to Intel drivers and breaks VLAN confgurations...but correct me if i'm wrong, aren't Microsoft/Intel working together when it comes to these updates? Why are Microsoft pushing updates to YOUR devices, and YOUR software causing constant malfunctions to VLAN configurations?

Why is the only fix to uninstall/reinstall the drivers because the breakage has botched the VLANS and got them stuck. I can understand this happening once....maybe even twice, but i'm now on a 4th occurrence of broken VLANs due to a Microsoft update push.

Are you guys aware that to reinstall a network adapter I need local access? To do this worldwide on remote sites, is more than an inconvenience, just for the simple fact that testing is obviously not being carried out.

My question is, is someone doing something about this, whether it's in Microsoft or Intel to reduce these problems? Or should I perhaps find another provider that isn't going to reliably provide with me errors on a by-monthly basis.

This occurrence has even prevented installation of any drivers at all?!2019-03-25_13h38_22.bmp

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Mike_Intel