FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6352 Discussions

Advice on how to use 2D Fir Filter Megacore Function?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone, 

I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to FPGAs, so I hope this question doesnt seem too trivial. I currently have an Altera DE0 University Program Development Kit, and would like to do some simple image processing on it.  

Specifically, I would like to access a jpeg image from an SD card, and then provide either smoothing or sharpening to this image via the 2D FIR Filter megacore function. Then, I would like to either save it back to the SD card as a seperate file, so that I can see the effects of the processing on my computer when I take the card out. 

To anyone here's knowledge, are there any tutorials on how to do this? I've searched the web for tutorials on how to use the 2D FIR filter, as well as the SD Card, but was largely unsuccessful. 

Thanks in advance if anyone can provide some guidance on this.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can't process a JPEG image directly. You will need a JPEG decoder before the filter, and then if you want to save the processed image back as a JPEG you will need a JPEG encoder after the filter. I would suggest that you work with uncompressed images for this project unless you already have access to a JPEG codec. 

As for how to use the filter, do some research! It's asking a lot for someone here to walk you through something so complicated.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Ahh I see, well I don't think I have access to a JPEG codec at the moment. Would I first need to save the jpeg data bits onto SRAM before I can access it, or can it be read off of the SD card directly?