FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6355 Discussions

DDR2 with Terasic's DE-4 board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, I'm new to DDR interfacing but I spent weeks trying to have UniPHY or ALTMEMPHY work with my DE-4 board, a 1GB SO-DIMM, and the stratix IV FPGA. No success yet. 

Firstly, the demo that comes from Terasic seems to work fine. the control panel application can read and write from the RAM, and the tutorial applications built by terasic for DDR2 access (built using ALTMEMPHY and SOPC builder) work as well, both when the ready binary is used or when I re-compile their source code and download the bitstream again. I am using QII 11.1, whereas their code seems to have been written using QII9.1 or something like that.