FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP

FFT Matlab Model

SGold21
Beginner

I am an algorithms engineer.

I want to use a 2048 bins FFT, streaming mode, block fixed point, 16 bit for both twiddle and data.

I am running the Matlab model trying to understand the behaviour and I am truly puzzled.

For example it seems to me that the output is much less than 16 bits.

I try for example the following signal

I0 = 32767, I1-I2047, Q0-2047 = 0.

I get output IOut0 - IOut2047 = 1024, with scaling.

If I change I0 to 32760, I get IOut0 - IOut2047 = 2048 (lower scaling).

I can't understand this behavior.

I don't understand why I won't receive Iout = 32767 or close?

Thanks

0 Kudos
5 Replies
CheePin_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,

As I understand it, you have some inquiries related to FFT IP. To ensure we are on the same page, just would like to check with you on the following:

1. What is the Quartus version that you are using?
  2. What is the DSP Builder version that you are using if you are using it?
  3. What is the Matlab version that you are using the DSP Builder with?
  4. Mind share with me the FFT .ip file generated by Quartus so that I can have a better understanding of your configuraiton
  5. Are you observing the above in simulation? If yes, please help to share with me the simulation files and steps to replicate observation so that I can further look into them.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
SGold21
Beginner

Hi,

The Matlab matches the fpga simulations. So that's not a "hardware" problem.

I am trying to understand the rational of the results I get - the main issue - why the output precision is usually much less than the 16 bits of input.

Thanks

0 Kudos
CheePin_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,