FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6343 Discussions

Input and Output while using Altera Simulink Blocks

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all; 

I am new to Simulink and Altera blocks. Last couple days I have been working on simulating simple projects using simulink blocks. Now I started to use Altera blocks instead of simulink but I am having an Input/Output issue.  

When I use constant source, i see the expected result at the output but if I use a signal generator my output is zero.  

I have a screenshot but system doesnt let me post. :( But this is how I simply tested. 

Simulink Constant -----> Altera Input ------>Altera Gain ---------> Altera Output -------> Simulink Scope 

Simulink DSP SineWave ------->Altera Input ------>Altera Gain--------->Altera Output ------->Simulink Scope 

What am I missing?  

Thanks. 

-- 

Ilker
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

How have you configured you Input and Output blocks? 

If your constant is outputting 0.5 and your Input is set to something like unsigned integer of width 8, then it would truncate your input to 0. 

Similarly with your Sine block, if your amplitude is too low it may be truncated.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi dabuk 

Thanks for your quick reply. 

I actually configured my input and output blocks to Signed Fractional [8].[8] and [17].[16] respectively. I thought it was Fixed or floating point option...
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

and what were your input values?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

for constant  

input = 0.5 output becomes = 1 (gain set to 2) 

for sine wave  

amplitude max 10  

sampling time 1/1000
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Ok so it works now?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

No. I still have the problem. Does it work on your system?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II