FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6355 Discussions

PCIe Control Register Access - QSYS - Nios

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm using Qsys in order to interface my Nios application to an external microprocessor via PCIe Interface. 

After Nios do some operations I need to generate a IRQ toward PCIe in order to advice the external processor that data are ready, etc. 

In order to do that in my Qsys system I've interconnected Nios_Data_bus with PCIE control register access and also the Nios Interrupt Sender to PCIE CRA Receiver. 

I've 2 different problems in Nios II environment (consider that I'm quite new in software writing, so maybe some are mistakes). 

1- First I expected in NIOS system.h some# define register to access to PCIe IRQ Enable and IRQ Status, whereas I found only: 

# define __ALTERA_PCIE_HARD_IP 

and also 

/* 

* PCIe configuration 

*/ 

# define ALT_MODULE_CLASS_PCIe altera_pcie_hard_ip 

# define PCIE_BASE 0x8000 

# define PCIE_IRQ 4 

# define PCIE_IRQ_INTERRUPT_CONTROLLER_ID 0 

# define PCIE_NAME "/dev/PCIe" 

# define PCIE_SPAN 16384 

# define PCIE_TYPE "altera_pcie_hard_ip" 

In reality PCIE_BASE is exactly the mapping of PCIe CRA in my NIOS memory, so that's ok. 

Other than that I've no clue on how use these informations.. 

In order to generate a IRQ toward PCIe, I've understand that I've to enable interrupt RXm_IRQ writing at CRA_BASE_ADD + 0x50 and that then I'll set the interested IRQ writing at CRA_BASE_ADD + 0x50. 

Is that all right? 

I think that it is very strange that in System.h I do not have any reference to the CRA internal registers as with all others perypheral I've used. 

2- 

To overcome to this "problem" I've generate an external file .c 

# define AVALON_MM_TO_PCIE_IRQ_ENABLE (0x50U) 

# define AVALON_MM_TO_PCIE_IRQ_STATUS (0x40U) 

void pcie_irq_ena(alt_u32 pcie_csr_base_addr, alt_u16 irq_mask)