FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6359 Discussions

Sine wave generation using NCO megafunction on Max 10 FPGA development kit

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I am a Bachelor student ( new to FPGAs )trying to generate a Sine Wave using the NCO (multiplier based algorithm) megafunction on the MAX 10 fpga development kit. I have read through a lot of threads and searched online but havent found a solution for my problems. These are a few problems I have been facing. 

I have set in the parameters in the NCO megafunction as per my requirements. After that I have Generated the HDL and then designed the schematic(attached).  

1. The output of the NCO is a 16 bit output. So I would have to give this output to a DAC to generate the analog sinewave form. As far as i have understood this NCO output is parallel. Would I need a parallel to serial converter, if so how do I implement it? 

2. After the Analysis and Synthesis, in the Pin planner how do I make the pin assignments for these 16 pin outputs ? The 16 bit DAC provided in the development kit has a serial input (DAC_DIN) is what I have gathered from the data sheet. 

3. Since I was unable to figure this out, I tried to simulate the NCO in modelsim and i have been getting errors(2 of them attached others are similar). Would I have to write some verilog code for simulation (I have assumed that the Generate HDL does it all so I have only written the SDC file with create clock and derive pll clock) or for the nco algorithm? What am I missing here? 

4. Is there any other way other than Modelsim to simulate and check whether my design is working. 

I intend to check the generated sine wave on an oscilloscope through the DAC SMA OUT. 

I would appreciate any help I can get. Thanks in advance 

Regards,
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---