FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6356 Discussions

Triple Speed Ethernet MAC core usage

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am new to ethernet interfacing so finding it very difficult to use TSE MAC core in my design. I have generated the TSE MAC core from mega wizard for 10/100/1000 MBPS ethernet MAC. Now I have got one VHDL file for this TSE MAC core component but I am not able to use it because I don't have any reference design or any application note. I don't know how to use these rx and tx fifo signals, control signals, clock and reset signals and MDIO signals and RGMII interface signals. I am using Cyclone 3 development board and there I checked for connections between FPGA and PHY chip, it is RGMII only. I don't want to use Nios II processor now to communicate with other ethernet node. Please help me in learning and achieving my task. If any reference deign in VHDL language or any step by step guide is there then please share with me. 

Thanks in advance, 

Shruti
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Please explain better. 

You mean you don't want to use with Nios II? So what way is it intended to work? Since you use a Cyclone dev board I believe you don't have another host processor to connect tse to.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Cris72, 

Is it necessary to use NIOS processor for using TSE MAC core? 

Actually my plan was to first check for TSE MAC core whether it is working fine or not then I will use Nios processor to implement some TCP/IP or UDP/IP stack. 

For this, I planned to send some ethernet packets from ethernet packet generator tool to TSE MAC core and see the clocks and receive data on signal tap. then later i will collect the data in some buffer and retransmit them to my PC and check transmit data on signal tap and verify with ethreal tool.