FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
5989 Discussions

Verilog module Instantiation

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Don't really know whether i should post this Q here or not. 

I'm a student using modelsimSE 6.1f. 

actually this Q is more to verilog...not on fpga hardware issue 

i was wondering,how can i control the input to an instantiated module? 

e.g: 

module bin2bcdAdder(input1,input2,bcd); 

/* 

*/ 

full_adder fa1(input1,input2,SUM,carryOut); 

endmodule 

the testbench generates 0000 to 1111 into the module bin2bcdAdder 

how can i control the input only from 0000 to 1001 can be passed to the instantiated module full_adder? 

and i'm trully sorry if i post this Q in the wrong section, or altera forum is only allowing altera's hardware related Q
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You basicaly need to add soething like this somewhere in your code 

if (input == 1001) begin 

input <= 4'b0; 

end 

But I guess you have no clue where to add it right ? 

Well, I can not help you there, not without the code.
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

module bin2bcdAdder(input1,input2,bcd); input input1,input2; output bcd; wire S; wire input1,input2; /*without this line, i can't assign the input values to A1,B1 and compile the code*/ reg A1,B1; addminus4bit am4b(A1,B1,0,S,V,C); always @ (A,B) begin if(A>1001|B>1001) begin A1=4'b0; B1=4'b0; end else begin A1=input1; B1=input2; end /*some codes here*/ end endmodulewell,i tried using the always block... 

or is it useless to use the > comparison? 

do i need to do case for each bit from 0000 to 1001?
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II