FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6359 Discussions

editing hbm2 example design and simulating the new design.

rsing93
Beginner

I m trying to understand hbm2 interfacing on stratix 10 using the example design generated using the ip programmer. I want to change some filss inside the example design and simulate the results to understand it better but i am not able to simulate the new design. Can i even change these files and if yes then how can i compile the modified design and simulate it.

Also, i am using modelsim for simulation and i am quite new to quartus so a more detailed answer will be very helpful.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
NurAida_A_Intel
Employee

Hi Sir,

Thank you for joining this Intel Community.

HBM2 is integrated into Intel FPGA Stratix 10 MX devices using System In Package (SiP) technology. Devices include either 1 or 2 HBM2 stacks at the top and bottom of the package, and each stack is either 4 high or 8 high. Each HBM2 connected to an EMIB interface has a dedicated hard controller that can be customized for each physical channel. The controllers are connected to a Universal Interface Bus, or UIB, to access the EMIB to the memory. You may refer to this HBM2 UG for more details :

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/programmable/us/en/pdfs/literature/ug/ug-20031.pdf

Feel free to check out this online training for an overview of the HBM architecture and implementation:

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/programmable/support/training/course/ohbms10.html

Upon completing this course, we recommend the following two follow-on courses:

Regarding the example design, may I know what kind of changes made and which file are you referring to?

Thanks

Regards,

Aida

0 Kudos
rsing93
Beginner

Thank you for your reply.

I have registered for the access to the courses stated and will go through them.