FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6359 Discussions

ip security against pyracy

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi, i am new to ip core design and i am looking for a way to protect my work when i submit it to customers for evaluation. i know creating the vhdp file will hide my work from customers while trying it. but does it allow the customer to deploy the design on fpga. i want to know how can i submit my work for evaluation with out the customer be able to use it on actual hardware for commercial purpose or be able to use it for limited evaluation time.thanks

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

That wont be possible. If you provide them with VHDL source or a netlist, they will be able to compile it into their designs. 

I would set up a contract before you give them any code/netlist.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

That wont be possible. If you provide them with VHDL source or a netlist, they will be able to compile it into their designs. 

I would set up a contract before you give them any code/netlist. 

--- Quote End ---  

then how do ip vendor cell annual licenses of their ip and when license expires the buyer is not able to use the ip unless buys another license. is there no way for me to do something like that,many thanks
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

you can deliver the pre flash hardware to customer :D . hehe . in the form of OTP flashed memory

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can deliver them a board that uses an encrypted configuration. Duplication won't be possible. It won't stand up to a knowledgeable crypto expert, but it will be good enough to keep casual intruders from duplicating it. See the configuration documentation for the FPGA family you are using.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---