FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6355 Discussions

lpm functions with no clock

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi  

I am very new to fpga so apologise if these are dumb questions but I have searched all over and cant find any help. 

We are trying to use some lpm functions concatenated together, a mult_accumulator which is then divided and then sqrt but we are struggling to get TimeQuest to verify. 

The systemis running with a 125MHz clock but the data is only passed into these blocks at about 50Hz, I have found that the calculations cant all be done in time so I started to add propagation delays. Without propagation delays is it assumed that each block will take 1 clock tick when analysed in TimeQuest? The reason I ask this is that there is no clock input so how would it know which clock to associate? (It must be getting a clock from somewhere otherwise it wouldnt be failing TimeQuest). We had assumed these blocks are pure combinatinal logic if there is no clock. 

When I add propagation delay, how can you know that calculation is complete? There is no done signal to be able to take the answer and clock it out to other parts of the system. 

Really appreciate any help because our heads are about to explode! 

Thanks
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

If TimeQuest is analyzing the paths as register-to-register (clocked) paths, then you must be feeding the input to the combinatorial logic from registers and capturing the result in registers.