FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6355 Discussions

matrix operation in vhdl

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear all, 

Can anyone give me a simple code for matrix operation such as multiply, add, substract or etc.? I am new with vhdl. 

Many thanks
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Those are simple operations that should be easy to write, and are a good way to learn VHDL! Try to write something and if you have problems we can help you. 

Do you need synthesizable code or is it for a test bench? How are the matrices communicated to your VHDL component?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This is the code i write and actually i want to has a matrix transpose from row to column. 

library ieee; 

use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; 

entity transpose is 

port ( 

-- Inputs 

in1 : IN integer RANGE -127 TO 127; 

in2 : IN integer RANGE -127 TO 127; 

in3 : IN integer RANGE -127 TO 127; 

--Outputs 

out1 : OUT integer RANGE -127 TO 127; 

out2 : OUT integer RANGE -127 TO 127; 

out3 : OUT integer RANGE -127 TO 127; 

end transpose; 

architecture transpose of transpose is 

type column is range -127 to 127; 

type row is range -127 to 127; 

type matrix is array (row,column) of integer; 

variable prod : matrix; 

variable i,j : integer;  

begin 

process 

begin 

for i in -127 to 127 loop 

for j in -127 to 127 loop 

prod (i,j)<= prod (j,i); 

end loop; 

end loop; 

end process; 

end transpose; 

I think the error is at the array structure.Can you tell me what am wrong? 

Many thanks
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I notice several problems here: 

1. arrays have to be declared like this: 

type some_array_t is array(a to b, c to d) of integer; --downto can be used instead of to 

so for you, you need  

type matrix is array(row'low to row'high, column'low to column'high) of integer;