FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

Altera PCI Express Development Kit: Linux DMA Driver

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am a newbie to FPGA design and implementation. While installing the PCI express board on LINUX machine, I don't see Demo application driver for DMA read and write for LINUX (Manual talks about windows installation).  

I want to generate DMA read and write in Linux box. Does anyone have pointer to a sample application, driver or sof file for the same. 

Let me know if I am wrong in understanding. 

Thanks in advance. 

-Vineet
0 Kudos
64 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello Vineet, 

Another forum member and I wrote a Linux Device Driver for the scatter gather design that is generated with the Altera PCI Express core wizard. 

It is now in the kernel tree, in the drivers/staging/ area: 

http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=tree;f=drivers/staging/altpciechdma;h=ef7dd8fe0e082860742da72655892f12fb088114;hb=f3b8436ad9a8ad36b3c9fa1fe030c7f38e5d3d0b
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for the pointer

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hello Vineet, 

Another forum member and I wrote a Linux Device Driver for the scatter gather design that is generated with the Altera PCI Express core wizard. 

It is now in the kernel tree, in the drivers/staging/ area: 

http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=tree;f=drivers/staging/altpciechdma;h=ef7dd8fe0e082860742da72655892f12fb088114;hb=f3b8436ad9a8ad36b3c9fa1fe030c7f38e5d3d0b 

--- Quote End ---  

Do you have a README or test application to test this driver ? Also, it would be good if you can exactly specify which kernel version it has been tested on. 

Thanks
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II