FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5915 Discussions

BeMicro SDK USB connection to host

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Does anyone know if you can connect from user space on the FPGA out to the host computer via the USB connection? On the block diagram, the arrow from the programmer to the FPGA goes one direction. I'm a hobbyist with professional VHDL and SOC design experience; but, for a home project, I don't necessarily want to go through the effort of connecting up the ethernet MAC to get started. Is there an alternative to the licensed Mobile DRAM controller? 30 days is generous, but for someone just looking to have fun, the IP core's cost is prohibitive. 

$79 is a great price tag for hobbyist entry, but the board appears to be designed for professionals with access to ethernet and the costly memory controller. Anyone's advise would be really helpful to know what I'm may be getting into!
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Does anyone know if you can connect from user space on the FPGA out to the host computer via the USB connection?  

--- Quote End ---  

The BeMicro-SDK implements an Altera USB-Blaster for programming the FPGA via USB. This interface can be used to communicate with applications, but the resources Altera provides are a bit limited in my opinion.