FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

ByteBlaster problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi 

I hope this problem can be sorted as easily as my first one. I'm new to CPLD programming/Quartus software, I usually use PIC microcontrollers, but having acquired 3 Max II Development Boards (EPM1270F256C5ES/N) at an auction, I thought I would give it a go. Ha !  

My latest problem is with the ByteBlaster cable, plugged into the parallel port LPT1. I followed the driver installation setup and it appeared in Hardware Setup in Quartus,after going into Tools,Programmer. I then tried to load the FunctionalTest.pof test file mentioned in one of the Altera user guides, at which point the Quartus software froze and I had to Ctrl+Alt+Delete to get out. Now when I go back into Quartus, ByteBlaster no longer appears in Hardware, or Hardware Setup, instead, when I click Add Hardware, I get the error message "Attempted to access JTAG server - internal error code 82 occurred". I've tried various command-line 'fixes' found on Google, but none work.  

I'm beginning to wonder if it's worth the bother and I'd be better off sticking with PICs, but if I can get some help with this, I'll give it one more go. Two at the most. Definitely not more than three. Or four.... 

regards
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The "ByteBlaster" is an ancient device. What operating system are you trying to use it with? 

I'd recommend spending $50 and buying a Terasic USB-Blaster: 

https://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/archive.pl?language=english&categoryno=39&no=46 

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/p0302/p0302-nd/2003484 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi 

thanks for the quick reply. I'm using the ByteBlaster as that's what came with the Development kits, they each had one. I'm using it with Windows XP, SP3. 

regards
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---