FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

Connecting a USB<->rs232(uart) module to the de-0 nano via GPIO

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, big newbie here. I was hoping you could all help me with my little problem(and answer some simple questions). 

I am doing my final year project and want to send some polynomial coefficients from a file on my computer to my de-0 nano board and back into a new file(after calculating on the board) using a simple c++ program. To do this i bought a small USB<->rs232 module. 

https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=6517  

I wanted to install the module as a COM port on my computer(with the manufacters drivers) but after connecting it via a USB cable, the PC didn't detect it so I concluded that I probably have to supply power to it from the de-0(I thought the module would be supplied from the USB connection) but have no idea how to do this. On the schematic from the manufacturer I see that I can use the 3,3 V pin but after reading the de-0 nano manual I don't understand if the 3,3 V GPIO pin on the header is for supplying power TO or FROM the board. 

https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=6514 https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=6515  

My plan was to supply power to the board via the usb cable(the one supplied in the board box) and then to the module with a serial cable(from the GPIO) but after connecting the cable to the board the module still doesn't power up. Do I have to first program the GPIO power pin in VHDL? Also on the schematics the 3,3 V and GND pin on the module are not in line as in the de-0 so how can i possibly connect the devices(do I have to connect the corrent pins to each other with a cable I make myself)? The cable im trying to use: 

https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=6518