FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5922 Discussions

CycloneIII 3c120 kit has very old factory configuration

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It seems, that the Kit that I received recently does contain a very old version of the factory configuration! The paper document of the User Guide is from August 2008. 

Looking at the newest version of the kit on the download page, I realize, that there has changed a lot. But when trying to restore factory default for the release 91 (since I currently would like to use Quartus WebEdition 9.1sp2) for the kit, I can not start the flash programming as stated in the user guide.  

After successfully loading the pfl.sof, trying to add the m2_prod.pof to the line CFI_512MB (by double clicking) I get the error "Only Flash Memory Programmer Object File is supported". 

Since I am a complete beginner, I feel lost! The kit is not up to date and I have to find out how to bring it to the current version! This is not what I expect from a new product! 

any help is much appreciated
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I share your pain. I have been struggling for months getting sample designs as well as custom designs to work with the CycloneIII 3c25 NiosII Embedded Development Kit. One of the problems, as you mentioned, is that most of the sample designs and support literature are for outdated versions of the development tools.  

FINALLY I have come across a design example specifically for this dev kit that is entirely in version 11.0 of the Quartus II tools. Like just about everything from Altera, it doesn't work out of the box, so I am having to work out some glitches in the the example C code (unfortuatey not my forte), but otherwise it appears to be a very clean design that is well documented (a first for Altera, I believe).