FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

CycloneIII Starter Board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

(Disclaimer: I am a Nios and Altera Newbie. If anything (or everything) I say is wrong and/or stupid, please let me know). 

I recently purchased a CycloneIII Starter Board followed about 3 months later by the Terasic NEEK upgrade kit. So I should have the equivalant to the NEEK straight from Altera. 

I have gone through some tutorials, but most of them are centered around "load this file and press some buttons". I dug around a bit and found some "build from scratch" tutorials that walk you through the process of getting a design onto the board. Most are not for the NEEK and so I had to fudge things a bit to get through them.  

After learning a bit about the tools, I set out to design my own. Here I am running into trouble. I want to make a Nios Processor that can blast a "hello world" message out of the serial port on the NEEK. 

On the daughtercard schematic I trace the RX line from the connector, through the tranceiver, and back through the MAXII device, and out the the HSMC on pin 115. On the Cyclone 3 development board pin 115 on the HSMC connector is HSMC_TX_n10, which appears to lead to pin E18. 

Back in Quartus, when I try to connect the RX line to pin E18 (using Pin Planner), I get the following error. 

..Error: Can't place pins assigned to pin location Pin_E18 (IOPAD_X53_Y21_N14) 

....Info: Pin uart_rxd is assigned to pin location Pin_E18 (IOPAD_X53_Y21_N14) 

....Info: Pin ~ALTERA_nCEO~ is assigned to pin location Pin_E18 (IOPAD_X53_Y21_N14) 

..Error: Can't fit design in device 

I have since figured out that some pins are used for configuration, and cannot be used for anything else. I have tried all the options in the "Assignements...Device Settings...Device...Device and Pin Options" menu of QuartusII to no avail.