FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

DE0-Nano Project

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am a newbie to the DE0-Nano but I have a project in mind and I was wondering if I could get some high level feedback on whether I am on the right track or not. 

background: 

I am a software engineer and we deal with X-Ray sensors on a fairly regular basis. If you have ever gone to the dentist and they shoved some plastic piece in your mouth, told you to bite down, and took an X-Ray then you know what I'm talking about. The problem is that in order to test the implementation of these sensors you have to hook them up and shoot them with radiation before they will return an image. Although we take precautions, sometimes you have to a LOT of images before you are done. 

project: 

What I am wanting to do is to create a dummy sensor by connecting the real sensor to the DE0-Nano board and logging the initialization so when I connect the DE0-Nano board to the computer that the computer will recognize the DE0-Nano as a sensor. 

The second part of this would be to log the protocol the sensor uses to return an image so that when I push one of the push buttons on the DE0-Nano that it will send and resend an image out to the USB. That way I can emulate the entire process and the actual sensor wouldn't need to be used.  

assumptions: 

I will need to hookup a USB breakout board to the DE0-Nano so I can use the DE0-Nano to log the communication between the sensor and the computer. 

questions: 

Am I on the right track with the DE0-Nano? 

Will I need a USB breakout board or is there a better way to do it? 

If I need a USB breakout board, what would you recommend for use with the DE0-Nano? 

Any other advice/questions/comments welcome.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

This is interesting. 

Following is what I am understanding from your post.