FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

DE0 SDRAM Access

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello :) 

First time FPGA user here. I'm a University student currently working on a project using a DE0 dev board. I've spent a good hour poking around on these forums trying to find what I'm looking for, but I aplogise in advance if I've missed the information I'm looking for! 

I want to write and read from the boards external RAM chip. There appears to be documentation/tutorials kicking about, but it relates to using NIOS/SOPC builder. This project is totally written from scratch in SystemVerilog, so that is of little use to me. 

I'm happy writting my own SDRAM controller, however, I don't quite understand the whole rows/columns signal thing. I effectively want to abstract the SDRAM such that I only have to worry about the address, data and write enable signals - the same way I treat the embedded M9K blocks. Does anyone have any example code or know of a tutorial they can point me towards? Or perhaps someone could shed some light on the whole rows/columns business? 

Cheers
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Jacki2ya: 

The Bank/Row/Column addressing scheme of drams/ sdrams is basically a way to reduce the number of pins required when accessing the ram. 

Since the ram is a Dynamic Ram based design, there are different rules associated with opening banks, and refreshing the ram that need to be followed. If you truly want to write your own controller, I suggest you download the zentel datasheet for the ram, and start going through the timing diagrams, and understanding the ram chip. 

Otherwise, you can you an SOPC/QSYS ram controller from the example system, and just create you own "Avalon" master to control the ram directly, by cutting the appropriate parts out of the system and tying it to your own master.