FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5925 Discussions

DE10-Nano Kit vs DE0-Nano-SoC Kit/Atlas-SoC Kit : Which to procure?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Background : I have no prior experience in FPGA SoC or FPGA or CPLD however I have worked extensively on Raspberry Pi 3 Model B (Raspbian OS) and ARM M4 micro-controller (Bare Metal Programming). 

I have a difficulty choosing between DE10-Nano Kit vs DE0-Nano-SoC Kit/Atlas-SoC Kit. All the difference I could find is in SoC and HDMI which is only output present in DE10-Nano Kit. 

The difference I found out in SoC was 110K Logic Element (DE10-Nano Kit) vs 40K Logic Element (DE0-Nano Kit) and presence of 1 hard memory controller (DE0-Nano Kit) against no hard memory controller (DE10-Nano Kit). I have no idea how any of this will affect me and what would be their implications. 

I plan to use Verilog HDL due to its relatedness to C/C++ (which I am familiar with). 

I ultimately plan use this board fuzzy logic controller implementation, machine learning and machine vision. 

I request experts to guide me in selection of appropriate board.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The DE10-Nano kit has a hard memory controller. I don't know if these boards will work for your applications, but unless you don't want the HDMI or are cost-constrained, I would probably go with the higher capacity FPGA on the DE10-Nano. The DE0 has a slightly faster ARM CPU complex than the DE10 (925Mhz vs. 800Mhz). 

I am going through the DE10-Nano documentation with my board and it seems pretty straight-forward so far. I have gotten some of the FPGA demonstrations to work, and have compiled/run C code on the board under Linux.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

TO_BE_DONE

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

That's interesting; at this link they say the DE10 part has one hard memory controller in the lower right corner: