FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
5148 Discussions

DE2-115 complete beginners question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

I am completely new to FPGAs but I am lucky enough to have been given a DE2-115 

I know its a big learning curve but being retired I have plenty of time , but I cant even get started to try it out because 

unfortunately the box is missing the system disk so I went online to see what I can download for the board. 

I downloaded the user manual but was then stuck  

I can download the  

Control panel 

System Builder 

System CD 

but which one , on line I can find lots of versions especially of the system CD 

Eventualy on the Altera products, DE2-115 product page I clicked the resources tab and that gave me a narrower field to choose from 

just one Control Panel 

One Systembuilder 

but still to System CDs 

one is  

DE2-115 CD-ROM (Cypress USB) of which there are then 4 versions  

the other 

DE2-115 CD-ROM (NXP USB) 

Which one do I need ? or do I need both ? 

Regards 

Don
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This is the official Terasic resource web page: 

http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/archive.pl?language=english&categoryno=165&no=502&partno=4 

You need the appropriate CD-ROM according to which USB device your board has. The manual should help you find this.
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I think you have to download from the Altera website: 

1) Quartus (web editon) free 

2) Modelsim Altera Starter edition (free) 

3) In the installation directory of Quartus youll' find the 'USB blaster' drivers.