FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

DUMMY Question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello folks. Total newbie here. 

This is probably going to be the dumbest question of all times, but as I need the answer, I figured, it would be even dumber not to ask. :p 

The question is:  

What happens right after I finished my project? ¿How do I get the chip, say, the MaxII or MaxV, OUT of the dev board and keep doing stuff with some other chips? 

The question comes from someone used to program microcontrollers using the PICKit2 and PicKit3 from Michochip, totally new to the intriguing and fascinating world of CPLD's and FPGA's. 

I think I get the idea; program in VHDL using Verilog or something else, compile and "burn" the chip. Just like the others, in a way. 

Only, I don't see an obvious way to GET THE CHIP OUT, once done. So, how can you think about doing any project to sell, like you do with any microcontroller? 

Thanks in advance. :)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There are no dumb questions ;) 

The CPLDs and FPGAs that you have on the development kits are soldered and can't be removed. ZIF sockets as we used to see them on old microcontrollers or EPROM programmers are not common any more. 

Today's Altera components can all be programmed in circuit using a JTAG connector, so most projects just use unprogrammed chips and program them during the manufacturing process. Also remember that only the CPLDs can be "burned" and retain their configuration when the power is lost. The FPGAs use RAM cells to hold their configuration, and require an external flash device to be configured at power on.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Just to be sure: VHDL and Verilog are two different languages, I do not know if it is a typing error or a misunderstanding so I'd like to point out that you can not program in VHDL using Verilog.