FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5922 Discussions

Debugging SW in DS-5 Eclipse Using DE-10 Standard board (ARM Cortex-A9 Core)

MeiB
Beginner

Hi, Folks, 

I have an Ubuntu VM (16.04) set up to connect to DE-10 board through the JTAG interface and the mini-Uart. I was able to blast FPGA image into the board; run a lightweight Linux shell through putty. I succeeded in running the example for DE-10_Standard_GHRD and HPS_FPGA_LED by executing the binary on the lightweight Linux shell. But when I tried to use Eclipse to build the software project for a debuggable version, I ran into all kinds of issues. I'm new to this embedded design. Would appreciate any help. Thanks!

1. Can we run eclipse in debugger mode for DE-10? Right now my DE-10 has a lightweight linux system (LXDE by DE-10) installed. How is the bare metal program loaded into the linux system by the debugger? Is it through linker target image _ro address? How do I know the value of the address? 

2. If I used the GCC compiler (DS-5 built-in) I was able to compile the project. But there is no option to select the target to load image. I'm not sure this would work. 

3. If I use ARM 5 compiler, I have to set up paths and symbols. But compiler/linker errors still occur,  as shown below. Who can point out what's missing? 

**** Build of configuration Debug for project HPS_FPGA_LED_ARM5 ****

make all 

Building file: ../main.c

Invoking: ARM C Compiler 5

armcc -Dsoc_cv_av -I/home/mei/intelFPGA_soceds/17.0/embedded/ip/altera/hps/altera_hps/hwlib/include/soc_cv_av -I/home/mei/intelFPGA_soceds/17.0/embedded/ip/altera/hps/altera_hps/hwlib/include -I/home/mei/intelFPGA_soceds/17.0/embedded/ds-5/sw/gcc/arm-linux-gnueabihf/libc/usr/include -O0 -g --md --depend_format=unix_escaped --no_depend_system_headers -c -o "main.o" "../main.c"

Warning: C9931W: Your license for feature ulteval_armcompiler will expire in 14 days