FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

I2C connecting

DChau5
Novice

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie in FPGA-SoC field so forgive me if I ask a silly question.

So, after successfully programming first bare-metal application ( just blink the LEDs, not much ) on my Atlas-SoC board, I continue with my journey to investigate the HPS. I designed my HPS in Platform designer ( Qsys ) with some peripheral and one of them is I2C. Now, a little bit about my setting and how I understand things:

• My I2C0 is set as HPS I/O set 1

I set it like this because as I understand, with HPS I/O set 0, the I2C is configured on pin A19 and C18 ( by checking on board schematic and Intel Pinout file ). I do not want A19 and C18 because those pins are connected to Acceleration Interface which do not connect to any header or pin so that I can connect to external I2C slave device. Therefore, I go with HPS I/O set 1 because the I2C are now on pin C19 and B16 which are connected to LTC header and I can connect to them by jumpers.

As how I usually work with FPGA, after finishing my HPS and top level entity, I go to Pin planner and start assigning appropriate pins to my signals which here, C19 and B16 to SDA and SCL. However, in the Location tab where we type the pin name, it cannot find the pins C19 and B16 although it recommend to use those in the Fitter location. So, my first assumption is that " It is connected automatically". I leave it like that and go work on preloader, uboot and I2C application. However, when check in on oscilloscope, I do not see any signal coming from those SDA and SCL, which only hold high.

My question is that

• All the thing I have done so far is correct ?
  • Is it wrong because I do not assign the pins properly ?

If not, then I need to check the C code but well, I want to make sure that all the necessary pins are assign properly.

Thanks in advance and all support is appreciated !

0 Kudos
8 Replies
EBERLAZARE_I_Intel

Hi,