FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5875 Discussions

Is it possible to use the BeMicro SDK as a pure FPGA device?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Without the nios soft processor. Any tutotial or samples will be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I don't know of any but to answer your question yes it is possible. The other devices on the board are embedded related but you should be able to access them using dedicated hardware instead of a CPU (might be difficult though...)

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you for the reply BadOmen! 

I'm a newbie to FPGA. When I made the purchase of the BeMicro I'm not that able to tell the difference between a soft-core processor and an FPGA integration module. It looks like I should have spent on the latter, and it will be a mission impossible for me at least for some years to turn the BeMicro into something I was looking for originally :rolleyes: 

To be honest the reason I got my hands on this device is mostly to explore and learn the parrallelism of FPGA, which originates from the hobby of data encryption - to speed things up. I'm not looking for hard-core code breaking (which from my understanding to do so it takes serious hardware and $$$ from a specific market), but just to learn and see how these things are done in principle. 

Wondered if i can still gain something out of the sitting stick :D 

Thank you again for the reply.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

My guess is that the simplest way to do that is to use the processor to get a running system (slow but running). 

Then replace some parts of the code with "hardware accelerated IP" a.k.a., Nios custom instructions. 

And you can do it with the NIOS/E (the free one)
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Then replace some parts of the code with "hardware accelerated IP" a.k.a., Nios custom instructions.