FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5931 Discussions

NIOS-II NEEK_HW_LAB example does not work

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

HI, 

I am a newbie O NIOS-II. I tried to following the tutorial documentation and the neek_HW_LAB example project to have a jump start. BUt it seems to me the example project is not working.  

The problem is to assign base address. According to the document, it can be assigned automatically. I did that. Then I also re-assigned manully  

the cpu_ddr_clock_bridge base address, according to NiosII Architect design Tutorial PDF document. But it fails the SOPC building with the following errors: 

Error: cpu.instruction_master: ext_flash.s1 (0x1000000..0x1ffffff) overlaps cpu_ddr_clock_bridge.s1 (0x0..0x3ffffff) 

Error: cpu.data_master: ext_flash.s1 (0x1000000..0x1ffffff) overlaps cpu_ddr_clock_bridge.s1 (0x0..0x3ffffff) 

ext_flash.s1 is created at  

"specify the nios ii processor boot configuration" section page 25. 

how to resolve the base address conflict? anything i did wrong? 

thank you 

oneplusone. 

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There is a menu item "auto assign base address" in SOPC builder. You can click it once you've added all your peripherals, and all the overlaps should be fixed.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Daixiwen, 

I followed Nios II Architect design Tutorial document. On Page 3-11: Reassign Component Base address to Eliminate Memory Conflicts after "Auto Assign Base Address".  

If I clicked Auto-Assign Base Address, it has the following error messages: 

Error: ddr_sdram.s1: Appears at more than one address (0x00000000, 0x08000000) 

Error: lcd_sgdma.csr: Appears at more than one address (0x02000000, 0x0a000000) 

When I changed Base address as the document instructed, One page 3-11 (2.), then I got the previous error messages.