FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

Newbie project problems

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All, 

I am very new to the altera board, i have never done fpga programming before, I dont know where to start 

I have a stratrix-II EP2s180 board. I have to program this board such that it takes in a sine wave and converts it to digital format and stores it in the 32MB compact flash given. 

As a step one I am using simulink(matlab) sine wave generator to generate the sinewave then I give it to the on board A/d converter, then I gave it to the scope(simulink) and check the output, it seems to be digitizing the signal, but How do i view this when i program this code on the board 

I guess I could use the signal tap like the factory default program, but how do i generate sine wave from the board itself, change the frequency to something below 5kHz? I need to sample this at 10Khz too:confused:  

My questions might be really dump but I would appreciate some help on this as i am totally confused and lost 

Regards 

DSPBoard
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

HI DSPBoard, 

The MATLAB sine wave generator will give you a quick way to design your system. However, to test it on the actual board, you need to use some sort of waveform generator to generate the sine wave and then feed that into the A2D port of your DSP port. The A2D should digitize your sine wave for you, and then you just need to save that into the 32MB compact flash. 

If you look at the factory default program, it stores a digital version of sine wave in a look-up-table and then pass that through D2A and to A2D. (If I remember correctly). Therefore, I don't think it's quite applicable in your case.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Use the the nco megacore to gerate youre sine wave.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi WrongHorizon