FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

No Nios II target connection paths were located. Check connections and that a Nios I

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, I am new to Altera tools. I am trying to run through the BeMicro SDK Lab Instructions (November 2010, Version 10.0) and came up with the error: 

"no nios ii target connection paths were located. check connections and that a nios ii .sof is downloaded.

when trying to refresh connections. 

I am running it on Windows 7 64 bit. Is this the problem?
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Apparently no on here has an answer.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

there are a couple hits on the forum, have you taken a look? 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24941
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I looked at those and tried the command shell. When I try to use the "nios2-terminal" I get the following reply back in the command shell: 

"There are no JTAG cables available on your system. 

However, when I go to my PC's Device Manager, "Altera USB-Blaster" shows up in the USB section. When I tell it to update the driver, it comes back and says: 

"The best driver software for your device is already installed". 

I have also tried re-installing the Quartus and Nios software as administrator---same result when it gets to this part of the lab.....
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

that's definitely a clue, it's never going to talk if the USB Blaster isn't recognized 

how about the last post here: 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21850 

i don't have a BeMicro to test with
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

That post says: 

"In the bemicro download there is a folder called "programmer" that includes the file "setup.exe"." 

Well, I do not find a "programmer" folder in the bemicro download.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II