FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5921 Discussions

[Noob DE10-nano] Can I deploy a generic rbf from linux using Cyclone V SoC?

zangman
New Contributor I

Hi - I'm a hobbyist new to the world of FPGA and especially FPGA SoC. I just got the DE10-Nano Rev C and I've been able to play around with the Linux installation and tried a few of the demo applications that came with it (SDCard image from here). I've also been able to use the USB Blaster and program a few designs directly on the FPGA (Blink, HDMI demo, simple cpu design) and both work just fine.

My questions are:

Question 1

Suppose I have a hello world blinking FPGA design for which I have generated the .sof file and confirmed it works, is there any way for me to take this file (or the .rbf file) and program the FPGA directly from Linux? The way I imagine it working is:

1. Boot up Linux
  2. SSH into the de10-nano.
  3. SCP the blink design file to some location on the de10-nano
  4. ???
  5. LED starts blinking.

Is this possible? I have seen some sites online which say you have to copy it to /media/FAT and then reboot, but when I tried that it died and I had to reimage the sd card.

Question 2

I saw this video where he creates an HPS image from scratch and then writes a C program to control the LEDs. Would I have to do something like this every time I want to have a custom FPGA design that I want to interface with on the HPS? For example, if I have a custom image processing or machine learning algorithm implemented in verilog, is this the route I will need to take to be able to write a C program that can interact with the FPGA?

Thanks in advance and I apologise for the basic questions. I don't have anyone I can consult with :(.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
zangman
New Contributor I

Okay I think I figured out how to deploy a generic hardware design to the FPGA. It doesn't really need device trees or configuring the Avalon bus, but it does need a specific linux image.