FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5929 Discussions

Purchase Intel FPGA Board

TechDeveloper
Novice

Dear Sir:

I am new to Intel FPGAs and its IDE and I wanted to purchase a development board to be utilized for RF communication applications.  

My experience with the Texas Instruments line of microprocessors, was a good experience because non-volatile memory was on chip.      Therefore, my first question is, do any Intel FPGA boards have non-volatile memory on chip.   

Now, before I hear replies, like you are trying to compare "apples with oranges", FPGAs and microprocessors are 2 two different items....

I own and program Xilinx development boards and an embedded processor is on chip within the development board.    I am assuming the Intel FPGA development boards are competitive with the Xilinx boards and they have the processor on chip.   

Since the assumption is made that Intel development boards have a processor and FPGA fabric on chip, my next question is directed towards non-volatile memory, can anyone tell me whether any Intel development boards have on chip non-volatile memory (along with the "assumed" FPGA fabric and embedded processor)? 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
JohnT_Intel
Employee

Hi,

All FPGA board will have on-board non-volatile memory which is used to store FPGA bitstreams. For FPGA with Processor then I would recommend you to use SOC device.

Below is the few option of the board that you may used.

0 Kudos
TechDeveloper
Novice

Dear JohnT;

Thank you for your reply.  

I was overlooking the kit that you had pointed me to.    I have a few questions about the kit that I think only you can answer.