FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5925 Discussions

Simple Socket Server question (data length in UDP packets)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Current Hardware used:  

Cyclone V GT Dev. Kit 

Background: 

I'm a 3rd year engineering student working as an intern. I am new to FPGA's, ethernet communications, and have little coding experience besides this project. Over the course of 5 weeks i have learned a lot, but i may say some terms wrong, so be easy on me :).  

Project description: 

I've been assigned to use the FPGA to multicast data over the ethernet. The data right now can be a simple message, i am not worried about format yet. 

Where I'm At: 

Using the Simple Socket Server template, I have created my own multicast task that creates a UDP socket server and sends packets containing data.  

The Problem: 

According to wireshark, the data in the packets sent is only 4 bytes in length, and always only the first 4 bytes of the message. So i wanted to send "0123456789abcdefghij" but it only sent "0123". This is the case no matter how long i make the message. Eventually, I will need the data to be 1040 bytes long. 

Question: 

Why is it only sending the first 4 bytes? What can i do to increase the amount of data in each packet sent?  

Attached: 

1. A picture of my multicast server task code. 

2. A picture of my wireshark info. The data is highlighted. 

Thank you for your time and your help with this question!
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Your problem is sizeof(message) is equal to 4. 

You probably want something like strlen(message) instead. 

char *message is a pointer, sizeof() = 4. 

char message[1024] is an array, sizeof() = 1024
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I don't recall what the maximum length of a UDP message is, but it is less than 1024. Try 1000 or 768.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II