FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5915 Discussions

Stratix V FPGA kit card only running at Gen3 pre-set 7

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

When I run compliance testing on the Stratix V FPGA card, with the LeCroy PERT and Wavemaster scope, I only get it running Gen3 at pre-set 7. 

Can anyone say what causes that constraint ? 

To pass PCI SIG compliance I believe the card / device has to pass at atleast 3 pre-sets. 

Best Regards, Bob.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm no PCIe expert, by my understanding after I read the spec is that a gen 3 endpoint is required to operate at the highest speed supported by the root complex. I does not imply that this is selectable. Assuming your device is a card that plugs into a PC, for full compliance testing you would need to verify it with 3 different motherboards, one that supports gen 1, one at gen 2 and one at gen 3 speeds. Conversely, if your device is a motherboard/root complex, you would need to test it with gen 1, 2, and 3 cards.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks Galfonz for the reply...  

My understanding is that the 11 presets are equalization settings ( at tx and rx ), that relate specifically to Gen3 speed. 

I have attached the pre-sets definition ... I am no expert either and preset 7 is a "nominal" setting as I unserstand... in compliance mode or normal mode , I understand test equipment or the RC can negotiate with the EP to try another preset in order to get to a better bit error rate ( BER ). My colleague indicates Stratix V kit as an EP is stuck at preset 7 and refuses to move to another preset when requested ... I believe there is an easy answer and that person is probably on this forum. 

Best Regards, Bob.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II