FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

THDB_ADA HSMC daughter card question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

For anyone have experience with the THDB_ADA daughter card, I have 2 questions 

1) Does the card provide extra general purpose I/Os from the FPGA to use? 

2) Do I need an external HSMC connection cable to connect the card with the starter kit? 

Thanks for your help 

ps: Where did you guys get the board from? Digit key do not have this one in stock
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I have limited experience of this card having been trying for the last few weeks to implement a digital control circuit for an optical comms application but am currently unable to get it working in single ended operation. 

I use it with a Cyclone III starter kit and there is a HSMC connector on it which the ADA board clips into. 

The pinout for the HSMC connector info can be downloaded from the Terasic website. The connector for the CIII starter kit is apparently smaller than a standard HSMC connector but there are some unused ports but I have not needed to use any and am not sure where they appear on the board.  

You can purchase the board (and starter kit) from Altera website but I bought it from a Japanese distributor.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I ordered a THDB_ADA daughter card for the Cyclone III Starter Board directly from Terasic and received it last week. There are no general purpose I/Os on the daughter board. No, you don't need a cable.  

I had two problems with the board that took me a few days to resolve. At first, I had no A/D input or D/A output signals. This turned out to be because the POWER ON signal was not being asserted due to a missing pull-up resistor (R59). From the schematic it looks like they may have sent me a board intended for the DE3 although I ordered one for the Cyclone III Starter Board. Once I added this resistor things started working.